Cyn Bagley's Shadowland

There are three parts of a woman’s life: girl, mother, and crone. I have wondered many times if I had lost part of the woman’s path because I hadn’t given birth. –yes, I am one of those blessed with childlessness.

Funny, when I was young and healthy enough to bear children, this aspect of my life didn’t worry me. I was travelling with the U.S. Navy. I was seeing the world. My boyfriend (now husband) had one grown daughter and a teenager (both adults now). Also, the more my mother pushed the idea of children, the more I pushed back at her. She already had two daughters giving her grandchildren… why did I have to do it too?

But, as I look at it now, while other girls went through the ordinary path of girl, mother, crone, I went a very different way: mother, girl, crone.

Now don’t look at…

Ver la entrada original 329 palabras más

Blast from the Past: The Way of the Girl

Responder

